Cable Dishtowel

Once again it’s time to make a dishtowel. I have learned that I’m possibly the slowest knitter in the history of ever. Seriously. If this project had been crochet I’d have knocked it out on a lazy day. It took me over a week!

On the upside I got to play with cables.

I figured since I’ve never done cables before a dishtowel was perfect practice. After all if I mess it up who cares? It’s just going to get stained and torn up anyway right?

This, or a washcloth, is perfect practice for cables! It’s especially nice if you’re using that cotton yarn you haven’t figured out what to do with yet. Like with most things in life cabling isn’t as hard as it seems.

Yarn: Lily Sugar and Cream 2 skeins

Needle: 4.5mm

Gauge: 21.5 Stitches x 28.5 Rows

Finished Size: 22 5/8 long x 10 6/8 long (Yes, I know it’s a messed up size)

Pattern:

Cast on 60sts

Row 1 (and odd rows) seed st for 6 sts, purl 18, knit 2, purl 8, knit 2, purl 18, seed 6.

Row 2 (and even rows) seed 6, knit 18, purl 2, knit 8, purl 2, knit 18, seed 6.

Row 3-12 repeat rows 1 and 2 as relevant.

Row 13 seed 6, purl 18, knit 2, cable 8, knit 2, purl 18, seed 6

Row 14 start again at row 2. Repeat 2 through 13 until you reach desired length.

Cast off.

I added some crochet at the bottom and top to stop curling. Assuming you didn’t mess up your seed stitch like I did this probably isn’t an issue for you. I’m not kidding when I say I’m not that great at knitting. 😉

 

About Marcia Young

I’m the wife of an NCO and the mother of one, home schooled, special needs child. I have won several people’s choice awards for my fanfiction under the moniker MLMonty. All of my current published works can be found via Smashwords and other retailers under my nom de plume Marcia Young. I am currently open to finding a new literary agent and publisher.
This entry was posted in Knitting and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

