Health Woes

Sometimes I hate life. Then I get over it.

This last few weeks however has been trying.

Nate's EyesIt started out easily. Nate and I had dual eye exams. My doctor was great. He’s very personable and we were just having a good ole time. Nate asked during my turn if we could go to Starbucks. I told him only if the dilation didn’t make me have a migraine since I’m prone to them.

The Cpt asked me a few questions regarding them and then said he wanted me to go off post for a referral. Apparently there was a concern that I might have swollen optic nerves which can lead to blindness. He didn’t have the equipment needed to check.

That appointment was on a Friday. My next was on the following Monday. The pictures were taken, I was re-dilated, and it was confirmed that my optic nerves were swollen. But was it IIH or an abnormally normal thing for my eyes? Maybe I just had big optic nerves?

They needed an MRI.

Just two weeks later I was sitting through an hour and a half MRI.

The next week was another eye appointment saying that my MRI was normal. The only way to confirm it was through a spinal tap. After a lot of fancy footwork concerning Tricare and incorrectly put in referrals I ended up with a spinal tap that same week.

20121211-123025.jpgIt seems I have IIH. I talked to my doctor and he told me he could only prescribe a diuretic. Which brings me to a problem. I can’t take meds for long. I have horrible reactions to medications. I don’t know if there is a name for people who are hyper sensitive to prescription drugs but I am. Hell it runs in my family. I can squeak by normally with things like a zpack but anything that’s long term is asking for a slew of health problems to open up.

When I asked about other options he told me to see a neurologist. The only other option might be to put a shunt in to drain the spinal fluid. That certainty doesn’t sound appealing! But sadly it might be better than playing Russian Roulette with meds.

The really sad thing about all this?

This started a decade ago. After I had Nate I started experiencing massive migraines. I had MRI’s, CT scans and even a hearing test before being told it was stress headaches.

I’ve been losing a 1/4 point in my vision every year and it might have been prevented if we had caught it earlier. Maybe now I’ll be able to be a candidate for corrective surgery in a few years?

Who knows things might start looking better in the future. Pun intended 😉

About Marcia Young

I’m the wife of an NCO and the mother of one, home schooled, special needs child. I have won several people’s choice awards for my fanfiction under the moniker MLMonty. All of my current published works can be found via Smashwords and other retailers under my nom de plume Marcia Young. I am currently open to finding a new literary agent and publisher.
This entry was posted in General Ramblings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Health Woes

  1. Me says:

    Hoping it all gets fixed.

  2. daniellajoe says:

    hope it goes well Marcia 🙂 that is unnerving…

    • Marcia Young says:

      Oh my gosh, I’m so sorry Daniella! For some reason you were hanging out with ‘sexy shemales’ in my spam folder! If I missed any other of your comments I’m sorry. I really wasn’t ignoring you. I had to unspam you and re-add you to my approved comments list.

      Anyway, under a doctor’s supervision I did try the diuretic but it turns out I’m allergic to it. The only option left might be a catheter in my neck draining the fluid to a different part of my body. I’ll find out more this Monday. The procedure is fairly quick surgery but it’s wroth with problems if we go that route. I’ve been trolling through the following site for information. http://www.ihrfoundation.org/intracranial/hypertension/info/C34

      • daniellajoe says:

        I had to laugh out loud where you “found” me I have had troubles comenting when using my phone…
        well take care and I will remember to send prayers your way 🙂 hugs!!!

Leave a Reply

