Color Change

I love getting yarn as presents. A few Christmas’ ago my dad and step-mom gave me a huge reusable bag full of yarn they found at a multitude of venues; yard sales, thrift stores, ect.

Most of it was novelty yarn and I’m still trying to figure out what to do with it. Some of it was novelty yarn in horrid colors. That’s what gave birth to the Cotton Candy Scarf and Hat.

One yarn I had and kept going back to was a brown and tan one that had little bundles that, I think, was supposed to be leaves. It worked up like Pom Pom yarn so it was very dense and hard to make something other than a border out of.

While I normally like browns and tans this one drove me nuts. It was just frankly hideous. However, yes there’s a however, Nate and I found an old Easter Egg Kit in the garage. It was from a year we PCS’d during Easter.

SO we did this:

We got our kit and yarn and prepped.

We carefully measured; by we I mean him.

Then we waited forever. It really did take a long time to make sure it soaked through all the way and took the dye. I let it soak overnight. Then dried it off. You’ll need to rinse it out after too; so that you don’t dye your clothes when you wash it with all your clothes on accident.

In the end it came out pretty well!

About Marcia Young

I’m the wife of an NCO and the mother of one, home schooled, special needs child. I have won several people’s choice awards for my fanfiction under the moniker MLMonty. All of my current published works can be found via Smashwords and other retailers under my nom de plume Marcia Young. I am currently open to finding a new literary agent and publisher.
This entry was posted in General Ramblings and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

