Crocheted Gloves

If you crochet by now you’ve seen a plethora of fingerless glove patterns. You’ve even seen mittens done in a half dozen different ways. One thing however that knitting seems to have a monopoly on is gloves.

It’s been driving me nuts.

I suck at knitting. Don’t believe me? Go check under knitting in categories. If nothing else it’ll give you a laugh. I did not inherit my grandmother’s knitting skill… or maybe I did. I don’t remember ever seeing her knit but my mom swears she did.

SO since I’m fairly good at crochet I decided to scourer the internet for a free glove pattern. Needless to say it didn’t go well. Not that there aren’t ones available just that they didn’t work for whatever reason.

I’ve been collecting crochet books and magazines. Normally the older the better but sometimes just because it had a pretty cover or was a gift I’d have something pretty modern. I decided that before I reduced myself to (shudders) paying for a pattern I’d look through my stash.

Low and behold I found a glove pattern!

Tucked away in the Spring 2013 issue of Interweave Crochet was the Ladylike Lace Gloves pattern. I was thrilled! I had already used their mitten pattern from a different issue.

I even had the perfect yarn I found at a thrift store.

I love this thread! Seriously it works up quickly and feels great on the fingers.

Now as for working the gloves… that was a bit of challenge. My math was off or I’d find that the math and my arthritis were at odds. Needless to say there was a lot of trying them on, unraveling them and redoing it. It was a tedious process but I love my new gloves!

Yeah, the fingers look a little wonky but that’s because it’s made to fit my fingers. My knuckles are no longer model envy. Overall I’m very pleased with them and the pattern.

Before my arthritis I used to play with the idea of getting back into modeling only as a parts model. Well, that ain’t going to be happening! 🙂

About Marcia Young

I’m the wife of an NCO and the mother of one, home schooled, special needs child. I have won several people’s choice awards for my fanfiction under the moniker MLMonty. All of my current published works can be found via Smashwords and other retailers under my nom de plume Marcia Young. I am currently open to finding a new literary agent and publisher.
This entry was posted in Crocheting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

