Corner Start Dishtowel

This was so insanely frustrating. Seriously, seriously, frustrating. Normally I don’t have too much trouble thinking up a pattern for what I want to do; if I can’t find exactly what I want already created by someone else. It’s normally as simple as thinking up the design and doing it. Writing it down is another matter given how often I rip what I did in my attempt to figure it out. If I run into a problem then I see if I can find something similar and figure out where I went wrong.

For this pattern it was fairly easy to figure out where to start and even how to end. The problem came in the middle. All the patterns I found were for squares. Well I didn’t want a square dishtowel. That’s just odd.

The most helpful thing I found was to alternate between increasing and decreasing rows. My instincts tell me to simply crochet across once I reach the width desired but it led to a curving of the fabric.

As you can see I got a curve I didn’t want though I did use the alternating method others wrote about. Blocking can take care of it if it annoys you. I ended up being lazy and leaving it as it is. It’s made for getting dirty after all!

Yarn: 2 1/2 skeins of Lily Sugar’n Cream

Yardage: 375-450

Hook: 4.5mm

Gauge: 15 sts x 18 rows (not essential)

Finished Size: 21″ x 15″

Pattern:

Row 1: ch 2

Row 2: (HDC, Dc, HDC), in 2nd ch from hook

Row 3 – as wide as desired: ch 1, (HDC, Dc) in 1st st, sc across, (Dc, HDC) in last st

Row 37: ch 1, HDC in 1st st, Dctog, sc across, (DC, HDC) in last st

Row 38: ch 1, HDC, DC, sc across, DC, HDC

Rows 39- length you want: alternate rows 37 and 38

Rows 75 – to end: ch 1, HDC in 1st st, Dctog, sc across, Dctog, HDC in last st. Continue until two sts left.

Bind off.

 

About Marcia Young

I’m the wife of an active duty Army NCO and the mother of one, home schooled, special needs child. I have won several people’s choice awards for my fanfiction under the moniker MLMonty. All of my current published works can be found via Smashwords and other retailers under my nom de plume Marcia Young. I am currently open to finding a new literary agent and publisher.
This entry was posted in Marcia Young Patterns and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

