Clones Knot Barefoot Sandals

Ah, barefoot sandals. They let you go barefoot while adding a touch of class. Okay, so they just dress up your feet a bit. These were more an experiment than a serious attempt but they came out well.

Barefoot Sandles

Yarn: Aunt Lydia’s Crochet Thread size 10

Hook: 1.5mm

Gauge: not essential

Sizes: The directions are for a size 8 women’s foot. To make longer or smaller keep working row 1 until you can wrap it 3/4 around your ankle. This will allow you to button it and to keep it snug but not too tight.

Special Stitch: Clones Knot. CK. You can find a video here. I’ll also give you a quick run through. After chaining your last chain slide your loop onto the neck of your hook. Hook your thread around the neck from underneath then twist your hook all the way around 360. Hook the thread again by going over the thread so your back in front of it then hook the thread by going under. Twist another 360. Do this 10 times total. Once you have 10 loops on carefully hook your thread as if making a stitch pulling the chain through the loops you made. Make one chain. Gently push up your knot to lock it then ss into the last chain made before the knot. Continue as directed in the pattern.

Pattern: Make 2

Row 1: Ch 20, ss into 1st ch, making the toe loop. Ch 45 more.

Row 2: DC into the 3rd ch, DC 21, (22DC). *Ch 3, sk 1, sc* (repeat till toe loop)

Row 3: ch 2, *Sc in middle ch of ch 3 loop made on last row. Ch 1, ck, ch 1, Sc in middle ch of next loop, ch 3* repeat till end of loops. Do not crochet into DC!

Row 4: *ch 3, Sc in middle of loop (behind the ck where appropriate) ch 3, Sc in middle of next loop*, stop repeat at last ck

Row 5-end: Repeat patterns for rows 4 and 5 until you only have 1 loop remaining.

Bind off.

Attach a button if desired. I got lazy and found out by accident that the ck makes a decent button if you slip them between the Dc of the 1st row.

*NOTE: Changes to this pattern have been made to hopefully make it clearer. If you have any question please do not hesitate to ask. 7/14/15

About Marcia Young

I’m the wife of an NCO and the mother of one, home schooled, special needs child. I have won several people’s choice awards for my fanfiction under the moniker MLMonty. All of my current published works can be found via Smashwords and other retailers under my nom de plume Marcia Young. I am currently open to finding a new literary agent and publisher.
This entry was posted in Clones Lace and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Clones Knot Barefoot Sandals

  1. Just a quick question, I dont want to be disrespectful in anyway. I have my own facebook page at Moonlight Crochet N Hemp. I crochet and make hemp jewelry…..if I was to make your beautiful barefoot sandals am I allowed to sell them as long as I give you full credit. Please let me know. Thank you so much.

    • Marcia Young says:

      You certainly are. Thank you for asking first! I appreciate the respect given. Just credit the pattern to me and if there are any errors in the pattern let me know so I can fix it.

  2. Too bad the picture is no more visible.

  3. Crimzyn says:

    I have a pattern question. The first instruction is to “ch 20, 22 into 1st st” I’m not sure what that means. If you could give me some clarity I would really appreciate it! Beautiful work and I’d love to make these for my friend when she gets back from her trip.

    • Marcia Young says:

      You know what; I’m not liking my instructions. I don’t feel they’re clear enough. For now omit the confusing line and start in Row 1. I’m going to work up a pair (hopefully tonight) and see which parts need clarifying. Since I’m the one who made the pattern I knew what I did but I might have omitted crucial parts unknowingly as so. Since its been so long since I posted this, this is the perfect time to retest my pattern. Please let me know if anything else jumps out at you as unclear. I think I omitted the toe loop but won’t know for sure until I carefully follow my pattern from scratch.

      • Marcia Young says:

        Yeah, that 22 was supposed to be SS (slip stitch)…. And sadly it took me staring at it for five minutes wondering what I had done before realizing it. I’ll definitely be going over this pattern. Thanks for bringing this to my attention Crimzyn. I’ve already edited that glaring error and I’ll fix anything else you or I notice as well.

  4. Pingback: 31 Free Crochet Barefoot Sandal Patterns | Guide Patterns

Leave a Reply

