Child’s Fingertipless Gloves

It has been forever since I’ve been here! Life has been hectic and while I have things to share I just haven’t found the time to do it. Since I’ve been gone I’ve had several doctors appointments for IH, been sick a lot, been super busy with obligations and homeschool, and been unable to find models for my crochet. Regarding the last I’ve re-branded my crochet into this:

Fashionably Thin Logo

The idea of using a skeleton as my model struck me as terribly funny so I just had to make a logo (took me four hours since I’ve never made a logo before. Thank you GIMP!) and dig out my Halloween decorations to make it happen. I plan to buy a posable skeleton at some point but all I have are skeleton parts right now.

Here’s one of the crochet patterns I’ve worked on since this summer.

Child’s Fingertipless Gloves: (The pattern is designed for my 11 year old son. The white gloves are his and the purple are mine. After seeing mine he insisted he needed a pair. He wears them everywhere; including during gymnastics. Mine were made to fit me and I didn’t write a pattern for them. I used a combination of knitting and crochet and the yarn is Lion Brand Amazing. I wrote the pattern for my son’s as I went and only used crochet. The fingers are long enough to cover the tips but can be pushed down when needing to text or use fine motor skills where touch is important.)

DSC_0196 DSC_0199

Hook: 5mm

Yarn: Bernat Softee Baby Solids

Gauge: 9 sts x 9 rows = 2”

Glove:

  • Round One: 20 FSC, join into a circle and use the tail to bind the bottom seamlessly.
  • Round Two – Five: Sc in spiral
  • Round Six: increase by 1 st every 5 sts (24 sts)
  • Round Seven – Twelve: Sc in spiral
  • Round Thirteen: Sc 20 sts, ch 5 FSC, sk 4, join into 1st Sc of round (thumb hole made)
  • Round Fourteen: Sc2ToG every 5 sts, making sure to omit the FSC sts from the Sc2ToG (22sts)

Index Finger:

  • Round One: Without cutting yarn being the index finger. 1 Sc, 3 FSC, Sc into 2nd Sc from where the FSC sts are on the opposite side of glove, Sc in thumb sts, Sc to 1st Sc made (12 sts)
  • Round Two: Sc2ToG every 6sts (10 sts)
  • Round Three – Ten: Sc in spiral
  • Round Eleven: Sc2ToG every 5 sts, bind off (8 sts)

Thumb:

  • Round One: Join yarn to any part of the thumb hole 14 Sc.
  • Round Two: Sc2ToG every 7 sts (12 sts)
  • Round Three: Sc
  • Round Four: Sc2ToG every 5 sts (10 sts)
  • Round Five – Nine: Sc
  • Round Ten: Sc2ToG every 4 sts, bind off

Middle Finger:

  • Round One: Join yarn 2 sts from base of previous finger, 3 Sc (including into the same st as previous Sc from last finger), Sc into previous fingers FSC, 3 Sc, 3 FSC, join to 1st Sc made. (12 sts)
  • Round Two: Sc
  • Round Three: Sc2ToG every 6 sts, (10 sts)
  • Round Four – Eleven: Sc
  • Round Twelve: Sc2ToG every 5 sts, bind off (8 sts)

Ring Finger:

  • Round One -Eleven: Repeat rounds one – eleven of middle finger.Sc
  • Round Twelve: Sc (10 sts)
  • Round Thirteen: Sc2Tog every 5 sts (8 sts)

Pinky:

  • Round One: Same as previous fingers (12 sts)
  • Round Two: Sc2ToG every 6 sts (10 sts)
  • Round Three: Sc2ToG every 5 sts (8 sts)
  • Round Four – Eight: Sc
  • Round Nine: Sc2Tog every 4 sts ( 6 sts)

FSC (Foundation Single Crochet): Normally when making a FSC you just making a chain but to do it in the fingers here you will slip your hook into the vertical bars of the last Sc made, pull up a loop, and being to FSC as normal. Then Sc into the 1st Sc made for that round. There are several good videos on YouTube if you are unfamiliar with FSC.

I’ve found that by adding a few extra stitches between fingers make the gloves more comfortable versus the normal way of simply pinching the sides together.

About Marcia Young

I’m the wife of an active duty Army NCO and the mother of one, home schooled, special needs child. I have won several people’s choice awards for my fanfiction under the moniker MLMonty. All of my current published works can be found via Smashwords and other retailers under my nom de plume Marcia Young. I am currently open to finding a new literary agent and publisher.
This entry was posted in Marcia Young Patterns and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

