Swimsuit Cover

Okay, so I made this ages ago; and then got sick, and then got busy, and before I knew it was January. So I’m finally posting this! Keeping with my new brand Fashionably Thin I used a skeleton’s ribcage to model it. I really want a life size posable skeleton but I gotta save up my money!

DSC_0007 DSC_0008

Yarn: Smart Thread (I have only ever found this yarn in a thrift store. I love it but can’t find it anywhere. The label is in Japanese and I can only read the word acrylic. Sub this yarn for any thread weight acrylic yarn you enjoy.)

Gauge: 1 sq = 3″ (if your gauge is off you can still do this pattern but must sub the number 3 in the equation for the size you get as it’ll effect the overall pattern)

Hook: 5.5mm

Pattern:

Okay, I already know you’re going to hate me. This pattern is fully customizable and it involves an equation to determine how many granny squares you’re going to need. You might hate me for this but I will take your hatred; because I hate ‘large’, ‘small’ patterns more than dealing with upset people.

First measure yourself or the person you’re gifting to. Take length, hips, waist, bust, arm width, neck hole measurements. Then use the following to determine how many squares you’ll need per panel. When working in the round double the amount.

Basic equation:  (m/3=sq) m=measurement sq= number of granny squares to make (round up or down depending on remainder).

So for example my length is 29”. 29/3=9.6 granny squares. I rounded up to 10 for over all length. So I’ll need to make 10 rows.

Added ease equation: (m+3=in/3=sq) If you want to make sure you have plenty of room add 3” to the basic equation. I did this to my bust since I find garments tend to be too tight in my bust on most occasions.

  • Hips: 41.5/3=14 (since this is in the round by virtue of measurement it’s 14sq per round or 7 sq per panel)
  • Waist: 35/3=14
  • Bust: 43+3=46/3=14.3=14
  • Length: 29/3=9.6=10
  • Arm Width: 13+3=16/3=5.3=5 (this tells me how long to make the straps)
  • Neck: 12+3=15/3=5 sq gap (how many to skip before adding straps)

The granny square I used is here.

Work the pattern bottom up in the round to make it easiest. Use the widest measurement to determine how many in a round to do. I was lucky since all of my measurements equaled 14 it was 14 in every round. If you’re getting a hip measure of 10 and a bust of 14 do 14 sq in every round. There is no couture in this pattern.

largest measurement * length=number of sq + (arm measurement * 2)= total squares needed.         14*10=140+(5*2)=150 sq needed.

Joining: JayGo. In the final round of sq slip hook into middle chain of corner of adjoining sq, middle dc, and middle ch of last corner and continue making a st as usual. You’ll be stitching around the other st like a sc2tog only without pulling up another loop.

ch,ch,ch, (dc,dc,dc) fp, bp, fp, dc, dc, dc, fp, bp, fp, (dc,dc,dc) ch,ch,ch

Pattern for joining: Adjust rows as needed or change contrast pattern.

Capture

Click me! The red line divides the front panel (left) and the back panel (right). Blue squares are contrast color and white main color.

I hope this wasn’t too confusing! I know what I did but explaining all those equations isn’t my strong point. Leave me a message if I made it too confusing and I’ll try to figure out a better way to explain it.

About Marcia Young

I’m the wife of an active duty Army NCO and the mother of one, home schooled, special needs child. I have won several people’s choice awards for my fanfiction under the moniker MLMonty. All of my current published works can be found via Smashwords and other retailers under my nom de plume Marcia Young. I am currently open to finding a new literary agent and publisher.
This entry was posted in Crocheting, Marcia Young Patterns and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

